Back in Chicago, September 2010

Autumn Comes

Autumn Comes

Back in Chicago after traveling in India and Nepal for 3 months.  Things are good.  Yesterday turned into the first beautiful day since I’ve been back, and I went downtown and met up with my friend Lauren, which was great!!!  Then came home and ran errands: got my bike fixed and bought a lock for it, so now I’m riding it around everywhere, which is awesome!  It’s red, too and smoothe and so much lighter and easier to ride than the other one that I was using.  My computer’s been acting up, so I took it to the IT place to have them take a look at it.  I’m hoping that’ll help some.  Just the initial stuff is $40 though, which is annoying, especially considering how much we pay to go to school here (well, not me, I guess, but in general).  So that felt good.  Then I hung out at home with the kitty, did a bunch of reading, went for the run (I’m so slow, but really wanting to build up my muscle mass again – it’s nice to have a strong body).

Life with Mike, my new flatmate, is good.  We have been eating breakfast together (oatmeal), which is good for both of us,and a great thing for me to be eating!  Grin.  So that’s good.  I have yet to make a kichadi dish, but I’ve been eating left-overs, so that works out okay.  I think that the reason the kitchen was a mess was mostly because Mike wasn’t here – but he’s good about it now, which is great.  We’ll be sharing a lot of our groceries, I think, which is also nice.  I’ve been drinking lots of decaf tea and think I should have people over soon to make some of the fancier darjeeling and Chinese teas.  Smile.  I’ve been doing great at not having caffeine!  You would be proud.  I am now back to my regular old number, which I discovered yesterday after calling my brother and him saying that my number just showed up as usual with my name.  We had a good chat yesterday, Mandla and I – he’s LOVING his college residential-life work, and his work in the public schools where he must be doing stuff for his movement and music for preschoolers class.  The big news from his front was that he and Claire broke up a couple of days ago.  It had sounded like it was coming, but I hadn’t heard that it had already happened.  He sounded sad to have hurt her (it sounds like she’s pretty upset) but also relieved and feeling like this was the right thing for him to have done.  So that’s good.  Grin.  We really did have a great conversation!

I’m doing the morning meditation thing on Saturday, which should be good!  My meditation practice needs a bit of a boost.  I’ve been at least sitting, but not for long (about 20 minutes a go).  So I’m hoping this’ll kick me into shape!  Grin.  I’m not going to be auditing a class.  I’m just going to take the Thursday class (History of Christian Thought 1) with a bunch of other people from my cohort, and then Preaching and Practicom (having to do with my internship).  So that’s all quite good, I think.  I’ll have to be very diligent about picking days to just head to the library and do my reading and writing and then one or two days to just claim as days off.

Thinking about days off: I think that I’m going to buy my plane ticket for the afternoon/evening of the Sunday before Thanksgiving to come to NYC.  Then you and I can drive back to Chicago the weekend/early week after Thanksgiving.  I’m going to take that Sunday (after Thanksgiving) off of work as well as the Monday afterwards try to take off of DDH stuff.  So that would leave us until Tuesday or Wednesday to get back here.  How does that sound?  by that time, it’ll be the last week of classes and then just finals!  CRAZY!  How time does pass.

Anyway, I’ve been rambling for ages.  I’ll look forward to talking with you soon!

Much much love,
Thandiwe

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Chicago, United States of America and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

