Return from the Sun Temple

Hi again from Puri.  J and I headed North to Konark to see the Sun Temple there yesterday afternoon, spent a lovely night and morning and are back again.

With the scooter at the beach

We had rented  a scooter and we took this with us to Konark.  On the way, we stopped at a deserted beach and went for a swim, just us, two bicycles and one fisherman in the distance.  I still was modest and wore a full-length mumu in the water. It’s funny where I can and do feel comfortable crossing cultural broundaries and when I don’t.  I guess to a large extent covering my body is a way of being culturally appropriate that also affects my own safety and comfort (I’d rather be covered than make a spectacle of myself, even if noone is obviously watching).  Smile.
The Sun Temple is beautiful!  Built in the 13th century and just amazing!  The walls are covered in intricate carvings of animals, beautiful women and then lots of tantric sex (a la kama sutra).  It was pretty funny to have an Indian guide this morning explaining to us what some of the images were (many of which were pretty explicitly clear without explanation – laugh).  He managed to do it without being creepy or inappropriate either, which was nice.

being present; looking forward

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in India, Orissa and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Return from the Sun Temple

  1. Malou says:

    That’s fun to explore many places on scooter. 😉

  2. ver4ik says:

    I have found your blog. Fotos are very interesting. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

