To my mother (about Vipassana)

August 5, 2010
Dearest mum,
Thank you for your lovely long email.  It brings tears to my eyes.  You don’t often write long rambling messages like this, and it’s lovely!  Thank you.  Smile.  Vipassana!  Well, if you’re really interested, you should totally look into it.  I think the hardest thing for you would be sitting – it can be quite painful at times, but there’s no one pushing you other than yourself.  In the west, I think it’s not as strict as here in Nepal and India.  Jon says that you can even use a chair if need be.  Vipassana is pretty much like meditation boot camp, and there were people who came and did it without EVER having meditated before.  Pretty amazing.  So, don’t give up on it for yourself yet.  Explore a bit more.  I think it could actually be an incredibly powerful experience for you as well.
Let’s see, Jon and I are in Kalimpong about to head to my host family’s.  I haven’t been in touch with them for a long time and feel a little bit guilty about that, but I  know it’ll be wonderful once I get there.  Smile.
I don’t have any current phone numbers of theirs’ so it will be a complete surprise.  Wow!  Smile.
I am super excited to see you in London in September. Can’t wait!  I love to hear from you when you get a chance.  More soon.
So much love,
Thandiwe
Choices, choices!

Darjeeling Clouds

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Darjeeling District, India and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

