Leaving Kathmandu again

July, 2010

Dear Mum and Dad,

I’m sitting in a little cyber cafe in Thamel with a day full of social engagements to make.  Jon’s pawing through a little bookshop close by, but I was feeling a little worn out – bookstores are fun, but sometimes I’d just as soon find a book and read it than look at all the ones I could be reading.  Smile.  We leave for India tomorrow on a night bus which means we should get to Kalimpong by Saturday afternoon.  Wow!  It’s been two years since I’ve been there and I haven’t been much in touch with my host family.  I feel a little guilty on the latter count, but that’s okay.  Life is busy and I’m now making the effort to visit.  It should be really fun to visit with Jon who lived with a neighboring family so my family has met him before.  Smile.  we’ve had fun traveling together, Jon and I.  Good travel partners we are.  I find that I am ready to get out of the city – the smog and noise have been particularly difficult after the ten days of Vipasana and the routine and peace and quiet of that.  I think it is something that I will do again, and I hope to keep up my meditation practice (2 hours a day) at least while I am on holiday from school.  It helps to have Jon to sit with as well.  another smile.
You both sound so very well – like you are getting settled (and what a gift to receive all that furniture from someone).  One of the things that I got thinking about at Vipassana was all the stuff that I have and being grateful for it but also wanting to be sure that I don’t get attached to it.  Life after all is not really about stuff at all!  I have a lot more trouble not getting attached to people.  This is what’s hard.  Sometimes I have a hard time with that regarding JOn – working on being in the present moment and not worrying about what will happen in the future.  Sometimes it’s easier than other times.  smile.
Anyway, I think probably I will be in touch via email versus phone for a while.  I think of you both often and love you much!
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

