TODAY

February 16, 2012

I came across this today, and it is so powerful that I want to share it:

“Be anything you want. Be madmen, drunks, and bastards of every shape and form. But at all costs avoid one thing: success.”
– Thomas Merton

“As my extended family gathered around the Thanksgiving dinner table before the market crash in 2008, conversation with cousins flowed about friends making big money with technology start-ups: ‘more, more; faster, faster; bigger, bigger.’

A hail of laughter greeted me when I quietly muttered that my ambition was, ‘poorer, poorer; slower, slower; smaller, smaller.’

“Broken dreams and relationships do not need to destroy us. Instead, with consciously applied inner work, they can become small doors that lead to greater wholeness.

“It takes a contemplative mind to see one’s own inner contradictions, the failures and inherent betrayals within our own lives and the institutions that we help to create. Those who take this journey of descent into their own sacred wound understand that what is flawed in them is somehow intimately connected to the unique gift that they have to offer to a broken world.”

-Bob Sabath (You can read the full article on  Sojourners)

These are wise words for all of us, I think.  Words of wisdom and strength and beauty – a reminder that our flaws are an integral part of the gift that we can offer the world around us.  Today I have great gratitude for this.

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Greensboro, NC, NC, Theological Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TODAY

  1. Manuel says:

    Thandiwe, I like to read all kind of blogs about, let’s call it spirituality, and I keep on stumbling upon the same topics, all indeed important, but you manage to go one step deeper, obviously because you have taken that step. Your words have weight. Success is a question of perspective. Wonderful reminder. I needed it today!

    • Thandiwe says:

      Manuel, thank you so much for reading my blog and for your generous words. More and more I believe that we are seekers. I certainly am. And there are these major transitions in my life that invite me to go deeper than I have before, to sink into the depths of what it means to be human and alive, and again and again, I find myself held by something that we may call God or the divine or the ground of being. or we may give it no name at all.

      Yes, success is a question of perspective. It is also a question of value and priority. Blessings to you on your journey.
      -Thandiwe

Leave a Reply

