A time-line of my life

Bonus Page 2: A timeline of Thandiwe’s life

June 7 1984 – December 1990: South Africa (mostly Mfanefile in rural KwaZulu Natal)

December 1990 – August 1994: Concord and Franklin New Hampshire (1st – 4th grade)

August 1994 – April 1995: Hyde Park, Chicago (5th grade)

April 1995 – June 2000: Plumtree, Zimbabwe (6th – 10th grade)

April 1995-December 1996 Alan Redfern Primary School (Plumtree)

January 1997-June 2000 Girls’ College (boarding high school in Bulawayo)

June 2000 – August 2002: Cleveland Heights Ohio (11th – 12th grade)

August 2002 – May 2006:  Pomona College, Claremont CA

My parents move to Melbourne Australia June 2003

I study abroad in Kalimpong, India Feb-June 2005 (Pitzer College in Darjeeling)

September 2006 – July 2007  MBKG Painnai, Katpadi, India (Global Ministries Missions Intern)

July 2007 – January 2008  Kathmandu, Nepal  (Program Assistant for Pitzer College in Nepal)

February – June 2008  Kalimpong, India (Program Assistant for Pitzer College in Darjeeling)

June – late July 2008  Kathmandu and Simi Gaun, Nepal

August 2008 – March 2009: San Francisco, CA (worked as a caregiver at Margie’s Residence for seniors – a home for 6 elderly women)

March – July 2009  Kathmandu, Nepal (and rural areas – volunteering for dZi Foundation)

August 2009 – June 2011 Hyde Park, Chicago (MDiv at the University of Chicago Divinity School).  I lived from August-December 2009 at the Disciples Divinity House then moved into an apartment with Jonathan

June-September 2010 I traveled with Jonathan in India and Nepal

October 2010-May 2011 I interned at Hyde Park Union Church

August 2011-May 2012  Greensboro, North Carolina (Interning at First Christian Church)

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in India, Nepal, Seminary, South Africa, United States of America, Zimbabwe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A time-line of my life

  1. Shayla says:

    Hey Thandi, I liked this as it has given me some insight of your whereabouts, as there was one point where we lost contact. You have really travelled alot and been to some wonderful places (based on your blogs) 🙂 Hope your well and I enjoy reading your blogs.

    Take care

    Shayla

    • Thandiwe says:

      Shayla,

      It’s great to hear from you, and yes, a timeline is helpful. There have been so many places that have captured my imagination and my time these last few years. Thanks for reading my blog – one day I’ll catch up to the present. But I’m not there yet. All the best to you, friend!

      Thandiwe

  2. Praise says:

    Interesting! This whole time I thought you were born and bred in ZImbabwe. Wow you have lived a couple of lifetimes. So many experiences and so many adventures. Almost envious:-)

    • Thandiwe says:

      No, not born and bred in Zim, though with my young childhood in South Africa, moving to Zimbabwe felt like coming home. I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve been back. One of these days….

      Thanks for reading my blog. And stay well, friend!

  3. Shivani says:

    Hey thandiwe.. Beautiful blog.. Amazing stories and experiences.. Thank you for sharing.. And nice to know whereabouts so that if we ever in same place can meet… Take care and wishing you everything of the best.. And would love to go to a number of places you have been to especially in india!! 🙂 xoxo

    • Thandiwe says:

      Shivani,

      Thanks for reading my blog! I’ve had so much fun doing this retrospectively. It’s interesting how things change and move and being able to go back and take that 20-20 view with retrospect. It reminds me some of where I come from even as I move forward. What are you up to these days? India is a wonderful wonderful place to travel!!! In some of my upcoming posts, I talk about my travels in the summer of 2010 when I was fortunate to visit Bodhgaya, Varanasi, Rajasthan, Orisa, Sikkim, and Delhi. It’s such a rich and beautiful place! All the best to you also!

Leave a Reply

