Poetics

9/13/09
Hi love.  I was looking at poetry on the poetry daily website http://poems.com/today.php.  After flying home from NYC by myself today, I can’t wait until more of our travel is together.  Loving that we are aligning our lives so that, while the roads are in different places right now, we make sure they keep intersecting, crossing and recrossing.  I talked to Shawnrey and DID remember to tell her that Chris Adley said he’d wife her.  She CRACKED up. Thought it was wonderful.  She’s a wife-worthy woman for some fortunate individual.
It was so good to visit you!  Thanks for all the sharing this weekend – I do love hearing you talk about Nepal, your travels with Pushparaj, your own struggles with the caste system, Lyndon State College, looking at photographs together.  Thanks for making me feel so very loved.  Smile.  My confidence in that grows as we are together, which is lovely.  You are ever close to my mind. Your presence is such a right thing in my life.
The evening here is warm, and the crickets are chirping outside.  I am finding it difficult to settle my mind into Hebrew which I felt more confident about BEFORE I began looking over it – that can’t be a good sign.  We have a fairly extensive quiz tomorrow, and there’s so much to remember – not just the vocabulary but accents, and spelling and pronunciation and word order and EVERYTHING.  Wry smile. I guess that’s why they call it an intensive.  I took the bus home from the airport.  It’s a little confusing finding WHERE the bus is from the airport (you have to follow signs for the CTA train, which involves taking an elvator up to the third floor of the parking garage area; kind of strange), but the bus is really easy.  It takes about an hour, costs $2.25 and will drop you off right on the northern end of campus.  I’ll give you the details again closer to when you are coming.  We’ll be sure to go to church together then.  Smile.  I look forward to it too.  Smile.
I’ll be up bright and early tomorrow. I reckon there’ll be a bunch of people having the Lenny’s New York bagels for breakfast (that was a marvellous idea to bring some back for folks from my visit to you in the Big Apple, thanks!)  I called my mum today to remind her to buy herself some flowers with the money I had given her (she HAD completely forgotten, as I suspected).  I’m looking forward to talking with you tomorrow night as you are back in Vermont.  It sounds like you’re going to have a relatively busy week; I hope that it contains some fun, too.  I think I might be going to a lecture tomorrow evening up at the Lutheran School of Theology tomorrow evening.  “The Zygon Center for Religion and Science invites you to “The Epic of Creation: Scientific, Biblical, and Theological Perspectives on Our Origins.” This course, offered as a free public lecture series and as a graduate-level seminary course, will meet Monday evenings, 6:30 PM – 9:30 PM, September 14 through December 7, 2009, at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, near the University of Chicago in the Hyde Park neighborhood.  Leading scientists will present the scientific story of the emergence and evolution of the universe, life, and humans; noted biblical scholars will provide insights on the biblical story of creation; and distinguished theologians will offer theological reflections on the epic of creation.”  Sounds interesting, no?
I’m also trying to figure out if I should try to get some regular work (there was something about a family with a couple of little kids (age 2 and 5, which sounds really fun) looking for a babysitter, which is something that I’d talked to you about (wanting to work with kids).  The money would be great!  And the work would probably be pretty fun too. I have to make sure it will work with my schedule. I guess my hesitation is that it will then limit what other things I can do sort of spur of the moment….  So I’m thinking about it.  Anyway, this is getting long, and I am rambling.  Just extending the time I’m spending with you, I guess…..  A happy smile.  It was wonderful to feel as sad as I did when we said goodbye this afternoon.   I love the photo of the two of us that I have on my desk here, smiling away at me.  Huge grins from atop Pine Mountain out in New Hampshire.
Do be well.  I know you will.
all my love, t.
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Chicago, United States of America and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

