Correspondence

Himalayan mountain flowers from our trek

September 1, 2009
hi you.
It’s chilly here, but I always feel pretty warm in my room (at least so far).  The meditation I led with some friends here at DDH (Disciples Divinity House) went really well – it was short. I think we were all just sort of getting stilled and then it was over (we started with 15 minutes so that it would not be so overwhelming).  I think we’ll do more next time.  And there were definitely folks who were really glad they’d done it and said so at the end.  We’ll see if we get much of a regular contingent.  Today there were six other than me, so really quite a large turn out. And we were in the chapel, which is just beautiful beautiful beautiful.  I remember at least one powerful worship service there from when I was like 10 years old.  Smile.  I remember belting out “siyahamb’ ekukhanyeni kwenkosi” which I believe I might have sung on the trail in Annapurna with Alden.  It’s a beautiful song about moving in God’s light (moving as in going, moving forward, that sort of thing).  I believe in that sort of positive power, that light.  I can feel it sometimes when it comes to me from someone else or when it comes out of me to someone else and then back.  It’s amazing how it works.  Darkness often works in that same way, I think.
"The Bean"Oh!  I keep forgetting to tell you that I talked with someone here whose daughter is really into a group she’s part of in the city that does urban foraging.  How awesome does that sound?  I think it’s food, herb, etc. foraging in the green parts of the city.  SO cool!!!!  That’s something that we’ll have to do sometime.  It made me (and my mum, too apparently) think immediately of you.  Smile.
I was talking to Ana asking her about Tod and if she ever imagined what it would have been like if she had married someone else.  And her response was, no, not really.  And she got talking about how different her life has been because she met Tod and how much of her life, how much of what she has been able to do, has been because of her partnership with him (and the same is true of Tod).  It was really fun to have just Ana to myself and to get to hear about her stories of different parts of her life; her take on her relationship with Tod, the things about him that drive her crazy, his double standards and hypocracies, and of course, far outweighing all those things, the incredible bond they share and their strong love for each other.  Neither of them is anything like bored with each other or with their lives.  Ana LOVES her job.  You should have heard her talking about it.  She said those very words (“I love my job!”) several times over the course of our time together.  I’m simply blessed to have her in my life.

57th Street

It was delightful to see Arielle today!  She seems very much as she was 4 1/2 years ago but more sure of herself, more grounded in who she is and what she wants in the world.  She’s lovely as she ever was and warm and bubbly.  I met her boyfriend Tim (with whom she’s been for just over a year), and he seems lovely too. He’s doing his second year of an MA in Religious Studies and Theology at Chicago Theological Seminary (just a few blocks down from the Div School and also the seminary that my father attended).  I think we’ll have fun spending time with the two of them.

Hebrew’s fine.  I’m not spending that much time on it right now because it’s really  not demanding that much time of me.  I should probably be doing more, but….  Well, you know me.  I’d rather be meditating or having a conversation or catching up with a dear friend from many years ago.  Grin.  It’s alright.  I’ll study when I need to.

57th Street Mural (seen better days)

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Seminary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

