Divinity School Part 2

August 29, 2009
Hi Everyone,
I hope that this email finds you well as the summer comes to a close and the autumn comes in.  I have finished moving into my new residence located in Hyde Park, Chicago.  I live in what is called Disciples Divinity House, and I believe there will be about 22 or so of us residents this year – we come from all over the country, and most of us are students at the Divinity School at the University in Chicago.  I lucked out and got a spacious room (which I have tried to fill up with the single bed, two bookshelves, desk and chair, comfortable chair, bedside table and two lamps that the house provided for my room.  It looks good with things from all over the world to remind me of people and places that are important to me.  The students I’ve met are friendly and demonstrate a great deal of intellectual as well as interpersonal curiosity, so I am excited to be here with them.  My mum, who was a resident here herself some thirty odd years ago, flew out here from Seattle with me to assist me with the settling in process, and her company, knowledge and generosity as I make this move have just been an incredible gift.
My first class begins on Monday morning.  I have three weeks of intensive Biblical Hebrew before the semester begins.  It should be fun and an incredible challenge.  As one of my dear friends said, it won’t be long before I’m living and breathing Hebrew.  Smile.  I had the option of Greek or Hebrew and Hebrew appealed to me first because I am particularly interested in the texts that I will be able to read in Hebrew and also because of the connection that it may provide for me with Judaism and that part of Christian history and the Christian tradition.
This is short and very newsy, but I wanted to give you all a heads-up on my life and how things are going.  The month (almost 6 weeks, actually) that I have been back in the United States have been filled with friends, family and adventure.  It’s been a blessed time indeed.  Smile!
Much peace and love to each of you.
Thandiwe
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Chicago and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

