Shhh! No laughing in the library!

July 31, 2009

Alden –

You almost made me laugh VERY loudly in a library that’s definitely NOT designed for loud laughing.  Grin.  Thanks for your email.  It’s good to hear from you and know that you’re still alive and kicking.  I hear from Nicki that you’re still in your flat – that kind of rocks.  I hope you don’t end up having to pay rent for it, though.  I think that could get a little pricey.  How’s the chamal business going?  I’m great – up in Vermont with Jon, which is magical.  I love this part of the country!!!!  We went hiking and swimming yesterday and today is rainy, so it’s errands, etc.  Perhaps some scraping of the asbestos-y paint off the porch.  His family’s house is magical, just what I would dream a Vermont house of being, creaky wooden floors, a couple of cats, an attic that smells like rafters, bathrooms with bathtubs that have clawed feet, a hammock in the yard, screen porch, a stream nearby with a little pool that one can dip in, blueberries and raspberries to pick from the garden.  Oh, did you get your mangoes off the trees?  Smile.  How are the tamangs?  and the puppy?  I do so miss our living arrangement in Kathmandu – it was the best living situation I’ve been in as an adult – pretty frikking wonderful.  Grin.  I miss you and Guru and Nicki, too.  And think of you all often.

But life is good here.  I’m looking forward to traveling back to New York and then on to the west coast with Jon.  It should be fun to explore San Francisco, Portland and Seattle a bit.  Oh, I passed your hug and love on to Jon.  I know that he sends it all right back.

Anyway, this is long enough for now.  Eat some good daal bhaat for me (I think that’s what we’re going to cook for dinner – yum!).  And be well.

Love and peace,
jyoti

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal, Vermont and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

