figuring out life (and other minor details)

7/24/09
timi kasto chhau (how are you)?  ke gardaichhau (what are you up to)?  I am so curious about how you are and how life is – moving, work, your family back in Balkot, missing mat, being in kathmandu, all of it.  I’m doing pretty well.  It’s strange to be back, and I find myself already slipping back into habits and ways of being and thinking that I was so glad to leave behind.  So that’s something to work on.  Smile.  Practice. Discipline.  It’s been great to see Shawnrey (wonderful wonderful wonderful – she’s a friend much like you whom I love fiercely and can just be affectionate with and talk to and just share myself with – you would get along swimmingly!), and Grace and Kayla, and I visited my friend Susannah (who was in Kalimpong with me) yesterday, which was good.  I’ve been staying with my aunt and uncle instead of at Faxon House (where I lived last year), which has been good.  It’s so much more relaxed, low-key and just easy easy easy.  I get really spoiled here.  Which is nice.  Grace’s grandma is dying, so things are particular stressful for folks at Faxon House with relatives around and people staying at the nursing home where McVey (grandma) is and so forth.  So it’s been really good for me to be somewhere relaxed.
The weather’s been beautiful here and then when I’m in the city, it’s frikking freezing!!!!!  Today I was wearing a tank top, long-sleeve shirt, sweater, jacket, fuzzy hat, and a fuzzy scarf.  Then when I got back to San Mateo where my aunt and uncle live, I was ready for a tank top and shorts.  Grin.  Pretty great.
Oh.  Speaking of talking, I have my cell phone now, so feel free to call.  I would LOVE to talk to you for however long or brief.  Smile.  Tomorrow I’m hanging out with Gracie and then having lunch with my aunt and uncle before going into the city tomorrow afternoon. Rika is going to trim my hair and then we’re all going out to the Lexington – a fabulous bar in the city with $1 margeritas from 9-10 and $1 tequila shots from 10-11.  I think it’ll be a fun night without busting my budget.  Grin.  Sunday I plan to go to church and then I leave on Monday.  So soon!!!!  It’s crazy.
Anyway, I wanted to say I’m thinking of you and miss you and love you so very much!!!!
timro didi (your big sister),
jyoti thandiwe
07/31/09
Hello beautiful woman,I miss YOU!  Grin.

I’m sorry about your living situation.  Community is definitely EXTREMELY important in Kathmandu.  Anywhere, really, but in that city in particular, I think.  It’s funny to think that Alden is still in his flat, not ready to move out.  I kind of feel like that one is going to bite him in the ass, but maybe not.  Wry smile.  I’m so glad that you two know each other.  It’s wonderful to think of you being at home with him. Is Guru still around as much as ever?  How’s Mat?

Oh, I love you and miss you.

Do be well.

A huge hug,
Thandiwe

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal, Vermont and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

