uncomplicatedly

11 July, 2009

I’m in the office, and it’s a beautiful morning in Kathmandu.  We went to Bishu-ji’s yesterday evening, which was lovely.  She was so happy to see Nicky and Nicky to see her.  I think today will be my last day in the office, which is weird.  I’ve been feeling how I’m leaving soon, and I guess I’ve been anxious about it.  I feel  myself being impatient with people – there’ve been lots of people in and out of the house, and I keep just wanting to be at home and have some space. I think I may have to go elsewhere and look for it a bit.  Take some time just by myself to walk around and sit and read and write.  I think that would be a good thing.

The monsoon definitely seems to be here – it rained all day yesterday, all the way through the evening until early this morning sometime.  I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night the last couple of days and just being awake, so I’ll make chamomile tea and read for a while before going back to sleep.  Alden’s trying to figure out how to get Rajan home.  Nicki’s trying to figure out where she’s going to live and what she’s going to do until October – it sounds like there’s a pretty cool possibility for a research project having to do with birthing out at Kalimati, I think.  It sounds like it would be right up her alley.
It was good to talk with you on the phone, both in Nepali and in English!  It sounds like things are pretty good and natural and easy.  Although that comes with its own challenges some times.
Himalayan Mountain Flowers
The time is definitely winding up here.  I have a few more errands here in Kathmandu before I leave.  Some more people to visit.  Perhaps a trip to Nagarkot with Alden, Nicki, Guru and one of Alden’s friends on Friday (could be pretty fun).
I should go and get to work.
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

