A Humid Glaze to the Kathmandu air

July 16, 2009
Dear Mum and Dad,
Hi!  It’s another hot sunny morning in kathmandu, there’s a humid glaze to the air today.  We haven’t really gotten as much rain as we need – the rice fields are pretty dry and there are many paddies as yet unplanted (work that is usually done almost 2 weeks ago).  I have been really enjoying the company of Nicki who is a woman who studied on the Pitzer program in Kathmandu the semester that I was working in Kalimpong last year.  She went up to simi gaun at the same time as I did and then became a really close friend of mine through phone and email this last year when I was in San Francisco.  she just arrived back in nepal for about 3 months, and it’s been wonderful wonderful to catch up with her here and have her be part of my last week.
The day after she arrived was a glorious sunny day, and Nicki and I went to Boudha where we sat for a long time and talked and watched the stuppa.  The mountains appeared on the horizon as if to wish me goodbye – the first and only time I’ve seen them from the city this visit.
We got home and cooked geDa guDi (mixed beans) for dinner which we ate with “whole wheat” toast and sauteed asparagus.  Nicki, Perrine and I sat on the roof with our food and talked with our lawyer neighbor who’s soon headed to Europe with her husband for a 15-day trip.  I’m trying to not feel like I’m treading water and just waiting to leave.  Nicki and I will head to Balkot tomorrow, which should be good.  And this afternoon we’re going to Patan and Krishna Mandir.  Hopefully Alden and I will be able to meet with the Jotishi, a Nepali astrologer, this afternoon.  I’m excited about that.
 Yesterday we went out to Balkot, where it turned out all the teaching and administrative staff were on a holiday for the first of the Nepali month Sraon.  So we didn’t see them, but it meant we were able to have a wonderful visit with Nima Daai and Sailaa and Umesh-ji who all work in the kitchen.  After visiting with them, we called Soorja to ask if we could come over and visit with him at his home.  On the walk out from Balkot to the main road, we bumped into Bhuwan who bought us some juice and chatted for a while.  Then we said goodbye and headed to Bhaktapur to have a WONDERFUL visit with Soorja.  He served us Newari raksi and delicious food and was just really generous and glad that we had come to see him.  He is such a good man, someone I was really sad to say goodbye to.
Then we headed home and ran some errands downtown – some last-minute shopping and such.  Today and tomorrow will involve a bit of visiting people and then packing tomorrow, I think.  I have managed to pick up a fair bit of stuff this time, but I also think that it will all be stuff that will help me feel connected to Nepal and so on.
I am so excited for you both and the possibilities for living in England!  I’ll be very excited to visit you!  Smile.  Yeah, Jon mentioned that he knew Amy and that she was at Riverdale when he was there – small world.  He also mentioned he thought there was some connection with his mom.  How funny!
Anyway, I’m sorry I missed you on the phone today.  I hope you’re both well.  I’m thinking of you and sending much love!!!
Thandiwe
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

