News in a nutshell

June 3, 2009
Dear Mum and Dad,
Hi!  Dad, thanks for the wonderful email.  I’m glad you’re home and well.  Life is good here.  Very very engaging and I find myself hardly having time to sit and write an email.  I’m in the office now, and I’m taking a moment to write to you.  I’m finding my life here very fulfilling.  Living with Jon and Alden is wonderful!  Although sometimes it means that sleep is a little short because we’re up talking or reading.  But wonderful.
I still need to sit down and write about the field visit that I had.  I haven’t managed to do that yet.  It’s all such a full full basket.  There’s so much I could write about – the walk I had up to Lidhunga, a Tamang community in Sotang, Tumau and the toilet projects, the school programs, the extremely malnourished baby I met, the walk from Namlung to Nurkhum with Jitna and friends, the frustration of being a young foreign woman in this culture and how people really look after you beyond what I am really happy or comfortable with, the leeches, the rain, stories about projects people have done, meals in people’s homes, the eeriness of a couple of the communities I visited, the school that’s booming because of a teacher who’s willing to teach Sherpa and students who want to learn coming from all around.  Swimming in a river on a sunny day, much walking and great beauty.  So many things!
It’s good to be back.  Jon and Alden are heading out for a trek that I’m thinking I’ll jump onto.  They’re going either to Muktinath on the Jomsom route (in the Annapurna region), or we’re talking about the potential for the Everest region, which would be more expensive.  I think it may mean that I don’t get to Kalimpong, and I’m okay with that.  I’m working on living today and really living for me as opposed to thinking that I need to hold on to people in certain ways.  And I think a trek with Jon and Alden is sort of the chance of a lifetime.  Grin.
Anyway, so that’s my news in a nutshell. I realize that I managed to miss both mother’s day and I think perhaps father’s day as well.  I love you both lots, and I guess I hope you know that.  I’m looking forward to seeing you later this summer.  I’m still fastening up plans, plane tickets, etc.  We’ll see how it all works.
So much love to both of you!
Thandiwe
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal, Nepali village and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

