Solukhumbu and Khotang PHOTOGRAPHS

May 2009

So words are fine, but they say that a picture is worth a thousand words, so here are some photographs from my trip out in the field.  Thanks much to everyone at dZi Foundation (http://www.dzifoundation.org/) that made it all possible!  And to everyone who welcomed me into their homes and to Jitna Dai who was my very attentive guide throughout.  Many of you may have heard of Solukhumbu as in the area of Nepal in which Sagarmatha, better known to us as Mount Everest, is located.  However, the southern part of Solukhumbu is a hilly region with quite temperate climates and decent farmland for those who can navigate terracing.

These are NGO Partners who came for a training which I co-led in Sotang.  It took Jitna (standing behind these chairs) and I two half days (with a porter to help us with our training supplies) to walk from the airstrip to Sotang.

An elementary school in Sotang that dZi had assisted the local community in equipping with new roofing (pretty and red!)

Homes in the community of Gudel.  Gudel is a largely Rai (a conglomeration of ethnic groups) area, and many families raised pigs as well as growing crops.

One of my favorite photographs: parents and siblings at an event at the Gudel High School

Manumaya was my roommate at the training event and soon became a good friend!

The morning when we reached our highest elevation in Solukhumbu (I can’t remember now what it was).  I was feeling a little bit sick, so Jitna and I paid someone else to help me carry my backpack so that we could make it to our next destination.

A student at one of the poorer and more isolated schools that Jitna and I visited.  The community had worked with dZi Foundation to improve the school.

About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Nepal, Nepali village and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solukhumbu and Khotang PHOTOGRAPHS

  1. Orel Engel says:

    Oups I voted 4 stars but I wanted to put 5!! Your blog is great and I can learn more about Nepal, a country that really attracts me!! We need more people like you. You’re help with the NGO is very precious and sadly too rare. A friend of mine went to Nepal to build a school. This experience changed her.

    • thandiwe says:

      Nepal is a beautiful country! I have had such incredible, life-changing experiences there. Thanks for reading my blog – and yes, I think it’s important as travelers to try and give something back to the places we have a chance to visit, places that change our lives. Best of luck with all your traveling. I look forward to continuing to read more about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

