Return from Solu Khumbu and Khotang

June 1, 2009
Hi Gracie,
How are you?  It has been such a long time!  I just got back from my trip out to the field  (on May 30th) and have been busy with work each day since with hardly a moment to spare for email, phone calls, bathing, friends.  How is life in San Mateo?  I bet it’s beautiful, if a little hot, there right now.  Any thoughts/plans for the summer?
I think and speak of you often.  It’s interesting, I was thinking today how much of my life and the way I think about the world and so forth involves you.  It’s quite lovely.  You are so important to me!  Smile.
Lets see….  There’s so much to tell, I’m not sure where to begin!  The trip out to Solukhumbu was amazing!  Magical.  Smile.  Not all easy and fun, but really beautiful and much walking and being outdoors and time with people.  It was wonderful to be out of Kathmandu, to be moving and to be learning about the work that dZi is doing.  I was sad to come back to the city except that I was ready to once more be a free agent.  I traveled with a wonderful man named Jitna, but I definitely felt over cared for – food, lodgings, money, walking, etc.  That definitely got tiring pretty rapidly.  I realize it’s very cultural and incredibly well meant, but it just wore on me after a while.  I like my independence!  It’s been good to be back in the office and working with folks and debriefing the trip.  The field staff is here also and that makes the transition back easier, because I have them to talk with also and just be around – three wonderful men!  One is three weeks older than my brother and married with an 8-month old baby.  CRAZY!  He’s beautiful.  The baby, the mother and the father.  Smile.
Anyway, this is a brief little window into my life.  I’m thinking of heading trekking with Jon and Alden who I’m staying with, which would be AWESOME!  They’re wonderful wonderful men and really fun, so I’m excited about that.  There’s some chemistry/tension that I’ve picked up on between me and Jon, and I’m curious how that will be resolved/progress.  He has someone back in the States, but he’s not sure what’s going to happen or even what he wants to happen when he gets back to the US.  And of course, I’ve been talking to with someone I’m very interested in, but also have this sense that I just don’t think I can do a long distance relationship and make it work in a way that will make me  happy.  I also have a sense that Jon and I could just enjoy each other here while we’re here, enjoy being in the same place and having that chemistry and then say goodbye and leave.  And I think that could be wonderful too.  So that’s how I feel.  But we’ll see what  happens and how it all unfolds.  Ah life.  And attraction.  And friendship.
I hope you’re well.  My hellos to Kayla.  And everyone.
Much love,
Thandi
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal, Nepali village and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

