Back in the land of internet…

… though no roads!

May 29, 2009

Dear Kara,

Thanks for your beautiful email.  You sound like you are doing so well and Texas sounds wonderful.  Smile.  I am sitting in a little room in a white stone house in Sallerie, the district capital of Solukhumbu.  It’s so weird to be on a computer after almost 3 weeks.  And weird here, too because there’s not a road that gets here to Sallerie, but I can use the internet.  So bizarre!  I have had such a good last three weeks immersed in Nepali, surrounded by some of the most beautiful landscape in the world and friendly folks.  And tomorrow I head back to Kathmandu.  Yesterday and today have been long walking days – today about 10 hours, lots of uphill and downhill mixed in there.  We were lucky to have perfect walking weather – neither too hot nor too cold, although, I did seem to get a little sunburnt on my face and neck.  Oops.  I was wearing a hat AND carrying an umbrella for shade.  Hm….
There’s so  much to tell you!  Beautiful beautiful people, incredible wealth in some ways and dire poverty in others.  People work so hard for their livelihood – so much walking and carrying and just work, physical work.  Which has its benefits and drawbacks.  I think the hardest thing for me was seeing this incredibly malnourished baby – a year old and smaller than many babies 4 or 5 months old, hardly strong enough to wimper his hunger.  It broke my heart.  There was a day of walking through forests of rhododendron trees 30-40 feet tall.  The views of snow covered himalayas in the distance and terraced fields and forests closer by.  There was the day we stopped at a sheperd’s hut in the hills and had hot buffalo milk (thick and sweet) and something sort of like cottage cheese fried in butter plus some hard yak cheese for the road.  There were monasteries and people’s homes and eggs coming out of my ears (since I don’t eat meat).  There is so much to tell!  Smile.
Your time at home sounds great!  And the mudbug boil sounds like fun, and I think that I would perhaps stretch  my vegetarianist rules a little bit to partake.  I wish I could visit there with you!
Anyway, I’m headed off.  Thanks for being in touch.  It’s wonderful to hear from you.  So wonderful.
Love and peace,
Thandiwe
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Nepal, Nepali village and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

