Stuck with a bum foot!

May 3, 2009

Kara,

Hi!  I’m at home.  I’m now staying with Jon (http://illwindblog.blogspot.com/) and Alden, but neither of them is here right now because Alden and his mum and aunt left this morning for a big trek and Jon is out in Bhaktapur doing an ayurvedic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayurveda) cleanse called panchakarma (http://illwindblog.blogspot.com/search/label/Panchakarma).  Cool guys, no?  What a day I’ve had.  What an afternoon – you got the long mass email I sent out.  Anyway, so yesterday I moved my stuff over here to Alden and Jon’s and had a super fun evening with Alden, his mum, his aunt (his mum’s twin), some neighbors and Alden’s friend, Guru, who they’re going trekking with.  So that was fun.  Then they headed off today, and I headed to work.
Oh, did I tell you how I hurt my foot?  I wasn’t even doing anything fun – it fell asleep and I stood up and took a couple of steps and it totally popped – I heard a crack, and was just like what in the world???  I finally, that evening (this was Wednesday) went to the hospital to get it x-rayed and fortunately it wasn’t broken, probably just a tendon pull, which I still need to be careful about, but it should get better on its own.  So that’s good.  It’s a total bummer though not being able to get around.  It makes me tired.  having to just sit around all day.  Wry smile.
I’ve been able to watch a couple of movies, though and read a bunch.  Someone at work gave me the book “How I quit Microsoft to Change the World” about the guy who started the non-profit Room to Read.  Not a great read, but interesting, especially the way he was just an amazing marketer plus a workaholic and just worked and worked and worked and was able to raise millions and millions of dollars.  And then I read a book about Shamans who live in the area of Nepal where I will be going.  That was quite interesting.  I wish I could remember what it was called.  What do you think of traditional medicine and shamanism?  Oh Kara, I thought of you so much when I was at the hospital getting my foot checked out.  There was a woman I met who is doing med school in Britain, but she’s from Singapore, I think, and she was doing part of her placement/internship/residency (I’m not exactly sure???) here and also in India.  What a learning experience!!!!! Crazy cool, no?  It made me wish you and I could be here at the same time.   Smile.
Let’s see…..  I feel like there was something else….  Oh, now I’m reading a book called “Black Elk Speaks” about a Sioux warrior and shaman in the 1800s.  It’s beautiful and heartbreaking.  I sometimes get a bit of white guilt.  Along with anger.  I get angry.  Oh.  I also recently watched “The Visitor” – a very beautiful movie that just seems real about immigrants in the US and also “The Great Debate” about a debating team from Wiley College in Texas during segregation times.  Ooh.  Sometimes I just can’t believe human beings.
Thank goodness for beauty!  Whether it’s beauty in nature or people or music or art or the beauty of a thunder storm (we had one this morning – I love thunder storms) or books or moments.
Anyway, this is getting long.  I think of you much. And I’ve missed being in close touch with you.  Anyway, I hope your finals are going well.  I’m sending all sorts of good thoughts.  Oh and I’ve been reading some Rabindranath Tagore (one of the most famous Indian poets of all time), and here’s some stuff from him (it’s full of love and longing and reminds me a great deal of Rumi’s poems).
Much love and peace to you,
Thandiwe
“This is my delight, thus to wait and watch all the wayside where shadow chases light and the rain comes in the wake of the summer.
Messengers, with tidings from unknown skies, greet me and speed along the road.  My heart is glad within, and the breath of the passing breeze is sweet.
From dawn till dusk I sit here before my door, and I know that of a sudden the happy moment will arrive when I shall see.
In the meanwhile I smile and I sing all alone.  In the meanwhile the air is filling with the perfume of promise.”
“On the seashore of endless worlds children meet.  The infinite sky is motionless overhead and the restless water is boisterous.  On the seashore of endless worlds the children met with shouts and dances.
They build their houses with sand and they play with empty shells.  With withered leaves they weave their boats and smilingly float them on the vast deep.  Children have their play on the seashore of the worlds.
They know not how to swim, they know not how to cast nets.  Pearl fishers dive for pearls, merchants sail in their ships, while children gather pebbles and scatter them again.  They seek not for hidden treasures, they know not how to cast nets.
The sea surges up with laughter and pale gleams the smile of the sea beach.  Death-dealing waves sing meaningless ballads to the children, even like a mother while rocking her baby’s cradle.  The sea plays with children, and pale gleams the smile of the sea beach.
On the seashore of the endless worlds children meet.  Tempest roams in the pathless sky, ships get wrecked in the trackless water, death is abroad and children play.  On the seashore of endless worlds is the great meeting of children.”
-Rumi
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

