Missing Kathmandu: September 08

A note from 2011 – Jonathan and I have been in a relationship now for over two years, having gotten together in Kathmandu in the summer of 2009.  We studied abroad together in Kalimpong in 2005, and Jon did a Fulbright in Kathmandu where he studied Ayurvedic medicine.  Given our current relationship, this is a delightful little look into our past.  Also a window into my missing Kathmandu from San Francisco.
-Thandiwe
September 2008
Jon,
As I settle into life here in San Francisco, there is a big part of my heart that wishes it were there with you in Kathmandu.  I hope that all is going well.  Don’t wait to hang out with Soorja and go to his house, it’s beyond wonderful.  Enjoy the city, I love it with its dirt and grime and soot, with its overcrowded buses and micros, with its markets, overflowing with color and sound, with its alleys in which to get lost and discover treasure, and most of all with its wonderful wonderful people.
So much love and peace,
Thandiwe jyoti
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Kathmandu, Nepal, San Francisco, United States of America and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

