Future plans and such

May 23, 2008
Dear Grace,
Joni Mitchell just came on my ipod – I have the songs on shuffle – and she makes me think of you.  Smile.  Who and what I need has changed a lot these last 2 years I think.  My parents have come much more into the forefront of this and I realize and have allowed myself to need you as I have not needed very many friends in the past.
Me?  At this moment, I’m good.  The trip to Pannai was far better than I could have hoped for.  Smile.  The train trip was long and hot, but a chance to write and read and just be with me, something that’s nice and that I don’t have a lot of here.  Then at Pannai, I was greeted with great joy and hugs and love.  Far more than I had kept away in mymemory.  Smile.  I even had four people come for the sole purpose of seeing me.  It was a gift for me to go and for the people there, I think, that I remembered and cared enough to go, to make the journey.
I’m back in Kalimpong – just this morning after a LOT of travel.  I stink after forty hours in a train without a shower!  But Iwanted to do email today.  So here I am.
Let’s see…..  In terms of the future and my plans.  I leave Kalimpong between the 12th and 15th of June and head to Kathmandu.  I will be in and out of Kathmandu until probably July 20th when I will fly back to the US probably via Thailand.  I think I will arrive in LA around the 25th or 26th of July (I think in time for my bro’s birthday, which would be awesome!).  I’ve committed a month to my parents – living with them, working on grad school applications and other writing.  Maybe preaching with them once wherever they are – big grin!  Smile.  And then getting up to San Francisco and you around the end of August.  I’m hoping to find a job and sign up for AT least Spanish classes at City College.  I think the one or two other things that would be really really good for me are to find a gym to join nearby and then maybe look for a camping/hiking group through Craig’s List or something.  So that’s what I’m thinking.  I’ll probably get a round-trip ticket from Kathmandu to the US returning to Kathmandu in April.  This gives me the choice to come back if that’s the right thing to do at that time.  Depending on what I would be doing, this return could be 1-3 months.  Then back to the US and hopefully grad school in the fall of next year.  So that puts me living with you for 7 months right now. 
Oh!  I’ve been thinking about your house and living in it.  And I’ve been getting really excited actually on my own thinking about working with you on the house and the garden.  I don’t really know anything about this kind of stuff, and I know you can’t really put it all off, but it’s something I’m looking forward to helping with too.  I want to learn about gardening.  Grin.
Anyway, this is getting long.  I love you so much.  I can’t wait to be there with you.   smile.  Be happy today.  Oh!  I didn’t tell you what makes me happy in my life.  Remind me of that in your next email and I”ll tell you.  Grin.
Again, love so much of it.
Thandiwe
About Thandiwe

Hopeful cynic, creative, seriously silly, lover of people and places, hypocrite, third-culture kid, queer, life-long learner, white woman, Christ follower, outdoor enthusiast: I am a seeker of justice and truth who has re-found my spiritual home in progressive Christianity. I serve as the Associate Pastor at a small Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) congregation near the mountains of Colorado where I live with my beloved.
This entry was posted in Darjeeling District, India and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

